Key Stage 4 Course Descriptors - St Wilfrids Catholic High School and Sixth Form College

Key Stage 4 Course Descriptors

Core Subjects

In Years 9, 10 and 11 students follow six core subjects and study up to four others from a wide variety of subjects that are accredited through GCSE and Technical Awards.

Religious Education, English Language and English Literature, Mathematics and combined Sciences are core subjects (in addition to non-examination PE). Students are asked to express a preference to study four additional subjects. Students are required to express a preference to study at least one of: French; Spanish; Geography or History.

By constantly seeking ways to raise achievement, we have developed a curriculum where the needs of every student are addressed. To support the identification of subjects, heads of subjects have created videos (see below) outlining the aims, structure and details of assessments relating to the courses .

We always guide students to express preferences to continue to study a broad and balanced curriculum:

• a modern foreign language i.e. French or Spanish
• a humanity i.e. geography or history
• an art/creative/performance subject
• a technical/science subject

The Core Subjects

Religious Studies GCSE

Mathematics GCSE

English Language and English Literature GCSE

Science: Combined Trilogy GCSE

Course Descriptions: Modern Foreign Language and Humanities

French GCSE

Geography GCSE

History GCSE

Spanish GCSE

Course Descriptions: Creative, Technical, Sciences and Other Subjects

Art and Design GCSE

Art Graphics GCSE

Business Studies GCSE

Child Development BTEC

Computer Science GCSE

Dance GCSE

Drama GCSE

Design and Technology GCSE

Enterprise BTEC

Food Preparation and Nutrition GCSE

French GCSE

Health and Social Care BTEC

ICT Creative Media Production

Media Studies GCSE

Music GCSE

Performing Arts BTEC

Physical Education GCSE

Sport, Activity & Fitness BTEC

Spanish GCSE

Statistics GCSE

Triple Science GCSE

Careers Guidance